LegitScript certified US-licensed physiciansUS-licensed pharmacy
SKINFDA-approved generic

Standard Isotretinoin

Prescribed by a US physician · Dispensed by a licensed US pharmacy

Isotretinoin (generic Accutane) is the prescription acne medication physicians turn to for severe or persistent acne that hasn’t cleared with other treatments. The Standard protocol is 20 mg or 40 mg daily, set by your physician based on your weight, with a check-in every month. Your $229 a month covers physician ...

DoseSame price at any strength

Your physician makes the final call from your intake. Looking for low-dose isotretinoin?

$229/ monthMedication included

You won't be charged unless a licensed physician approves you.

Every month includes: physician review · your medication · iPLEDGE handled · shipping · care-team messaging. Lab tests are billed separately.

About $7.63 a day

You won't be charged unless a licensed physician approves you. A temporary hold is placed at checkout and released if you're not approved.

No lock-in. Pause or cancel anytime. Not sure this is the one? Take the 60-second quiz
Today
Intake, about 10 min
About 2 business days
Physician review
If approved
iPLEDGE, then it ships
Verify Approval for www.happyglow.com
Reviewed by a US-licensed physicianFilled by a state-licensed US pharmacyDiscreet delivery · pause or cancel anytime
Standard Isotretinoin 20 mgMedication included$229 / month

HOW IT WORKS

What happens after you start?

You won't be charged unless a licensed physician approves you.

  1. Today

    Start your protocol

    Pick your strength and check out. Your medical intake opens right after.

  2. About 10 minutes

    Complete your intake

    Answer the medical questions online. No appointment, no waiting room.

  3. About 2 business days

    Physician review

    A US-licensed physician reviews your intake and decides whether this protocol is appropriate for you. If it isn't, the hold on your card is released and you're not charged.

  4. Ongoing

    Fulfilled & delivered

    If approved, a US-licensed pharmacy fulfills your prescription and ships it to your door on your plan's schedule.

WHAT'S IN YOUR BOX

One price. Medication included.

  • Your medication. Your prescribed dose, labeled by the pharmacy, in discreet packaging.
  • Clear directions. When and how to take it, from your physician and pharmacist.
  • Physician messaging. Message your care team anytime through your dashboard.

THE SCIENCE

How does Standard Isotretinoin work, and what does it cost?

Isotretinoin is an FDA-approved oral retinoid that shrinks the oil glands and reduces the oil, bacteria, and clogging behind severe or stubborn acne. A standard course steps up to a target daily dose, set by your weight and response, and aims for lasting clearance over roughly five to six months. Dry lips, skin, and eyes are common, and treatment requires monitoring, including blood work. It must never be used in pregnancy because it causes serious birth defects.

Common

Dry lips, skin and eyes. Nosebleeds can happen. Your physician orders blood work to check liver function and cholesterol.

Tell your physician right away

Mood changes or depression, severe headaches, vision changes, or stomach pain.

FACT SHEET

StatusFDA-approved generic
FormOral
Dose20 mg · 40 mg
ProgramiPLEDGE REMS
Supply30 days, no refills
PrescriberUS-licensed physician
PharmacyUS-licensed pharmacy

WHAT TO EXPECT

What should you expect, month by month?

  1. Week 1

    Your protocol arrives. Start as directed and note how you feel.

  2. Month 1

    Your body adjusts. Early changes, if any, are usually subtle; mild side effects often ease in this window.

  3. Month 3

    Many patients begin to notice change. Your physician checks in and adjusts the dose if needed.

  4. Month 6+

    Progress is reassessed with your physician, who decides whether to continue, adjust or taper.

Timelines vary by person, dose and condition. Your physician sets the pace and adjusts as you go.

HOW IT COMPARES

Online Accutane: Happyglow vs the other routes

What each route includes for the monthly price. Competitor figures come from their public pages on October 25, 2026, and change, so check before you decide. Curology and Nurx both say on their own sites that they do not prescribe isotretinoin; Hims does not list it among its acne treatments.

What you get Happyglow In-person dermatologist Clear Health Honeydew
Monthly cost $229: physician visits, iPLEDGE handling, the prescription and the medication, shipped A visit fee per appointment (often $150 to $300 cash), plus the pharmacy, plus labs $59 per telemedicine evaluation (its FAQ); medication through its pharmacy network is cash-pay, charged after approval; prepaid plans offered $25 a month on the annual plan ($299 a year); medication and labs billed separately
Medication included Yes No: pharmacy copay or cash price Stated as included on its standard plans No: "as low as $30 a box" at an outside pharmacy
Typical month, paying cash, before labs $229, month to month, no insurance needed About $210 to $360: the visit plus generic isotretinoin at roughly $60 with a coupon About $120 to $180: a $59 evaluation (isotretinoin needs a new prescription every 30 days) plus cash-pay generic isotretinoin at roughly $60 to $120; its "$59 for consultation + medication" is a first-month intro for new micro-dose patients About $85 to $110: $25 membership on a $299 annual plan paid upfront (monthly plan price not published) plus generic isotretinoin at roughly $60 with a coupon
Labs Ordered by your physician, paid by you at the lab Billed separately by the lab Not stated; its site says labs can go through your insurance Not included, per its pricing page
If your insurance covers isotretinoin Same price; Happyglow never bills insurance Visit copay plus a drug copay, often the cheapest route Membership plus copays Membership plus copays
Who reviews your case A US-licensed physician A dermatologist US-licensed physicians on its platform Dermatologists and nurse practitioners
iPLEDGE handled for you Yes, every month Yes, in the office Not stated on its site Yes (its words: manages all iPLEDGE requirements)
Charged only if approved Yes No: the visit is billed either way Yes (its stated policy) First consultation free, membership billed after

Best for: Happyglow fits someone paying cash, or who would rather not run isotretinoin through a family insurance plan, and wants one monthly price with the medication, the iPLEDGE paperwork and the check-ins already in it, with no annual commitment. Labs are the one thing you pay separately, which is true of every online route. If your insurance covers isotretinoin, a membership-plus-pharmacy model will usually cost you less per month, and we would rather tell you that here. An in-person dermatologist is the better choice for severe nodular acne that may need injections, or a complicated medical history.

FAQ

Common questions about Standard Isotretinoin

Still deciding between strengths, or between this and another protocol?

Take the 60-second quiz

Am I eligible?

Eligibility is a clinical decision. After you check out, you'll complete a medical intake; a US-licensed physician reviews it and determines whether this protocol is appropriate for you. If it isn't, the hold on your card is released and you're not charged.

Is isotretinoin compounded?

No. Isotretinoin is an FDA-approved prescription medication. You receive generic isotretinoin capsules from a US-licensed pharmacy, dispensed through iPLEDGE, the FDA-required safety program.

How is a standard course different from low-dose?

A standard course steps up to a higher target daily dose, set by your weight and how you respond, and usually runs about five to six months. Low-dose uses a smaller daily dose over a longer period. Your physician recommends the approach that fits your acne and history.

Why do 20 mg and 40 mg cost the same?

The price covers your whole protocol: physician oversight, the monthly iPLEDGE requirements, and your medication. Most courses start at 20 mg and move up, so the strength your physician prescribes does not change what you pay.

Why is it shipped one month at a time?

iPLEDGE requires a new prescription every month, limited to a 30-day supply with no refills. Your physician checks in each month before the next prescription is released, and it ships discreetly from a US-licensed pharmacy.

What if I'm not approved?

You're not charged. Checkout places a temporary hold on your card, and it's released if a physician doesn't approve your protocol. Where possible, your physician may suggest an alternative that fits your case.

What's included, and what's billed separately?

Your price covers your physician review, your prescription, messaging with your care team and, for most protocols, your medication and shipping from a US-licensed pharmacy. Brand-name GLP-1 care is the exception: you buy the medication from the manufacturer's own pharmacy. For isotretinoin, the required lab work (blood tests, and monthly pregnancy tests if you can become pregnant) is billed separately by the lab.

How quickly will it arrive?

Once a physician approves your protocol, the pharmacy prepares your prescription and ships it to you. Your dashboard shows the status and tracking at every step.

Can I cancel or pause?

Yes, there's no lock-in. You can pause or cancel your protocol anytime from your dashboard before your next fulfilment.

STANDARD ISOTRETINOIN · $229 / MONTH

Ready when you are.

Start your protocol

Charged only if a physician approves you.